That was the 13th VAUDE HILLclimb 2021

Course record and double victory

The HILLclimb Brixen im Thale in 2021 was in many ways a very special edition of the most popular mountain bike mountain sprint in Austria: Instead of Wednesday this year, on Thursday, one of the first races after a long, corona-related dry spell, a new course record by a Finn and a Tyrolean double victory in the Women. Despite significantly fewer participants, the tension could hardly be greater.

The HILLclimb 2021

200 starters and a new course record at the HILLclimb on July 1st, 2021! The 13th edition of the HILLclimb in Bressanone this year exuded a touch of normality and thus a lot of joy and euphoria among the participants.

Finally racing again ...

... that's what the 200 or so participants at the VAUDE HILLclimb 2021 in Brixen im Thale thought - and you could clearly see this joy at the start. And the organizers were also delighted that after this long break from racing, just over 200 participants took part. A short-term rescheduling of the race from Wednesday to Thursday, July 1st, made it possible for this "large" number of participants to start. This would not have been possible a day earlier (due to the still applicable Corona regulation). Nevertheless, the proximity to the main competition of the KitzAlpBike Festival, the marathon on Saturday, probably prevented more participants. In particular, some licensed riders who will be at the start of the State Marathon Championship on Saturday deliberately skipped the HILLclimb in order to save energy. After all: the 5.5 kilometers and 600 meters in altitude to the finish at Filzalmsee in Hochbrixen demand everything from the drivers.


What a course record ...

Last Saturday, the Finn, Toni Tähti, pointed out at the opening of the KitzAlpBike Festival, and we secured victory in the overall ranking of the Windautaler Radlrallye. That is why he started the HILLclimb as a favorite and proved right from the start that he felt right at home in the role. He drove a lonely race in the lead for the longest time. Lonely yeah Boring but under no circumstances. Because when he first crossed the finish line on Hochbrixen, it was clear: Toni Tähti will be talked about for longer at the HILLclimb. The new course record will be new from 2021: 18 minutes, 3 seconds - a fabulous time that will probably last for some time.
Places two and three went to Germany: Christoph Wachter came second and Jakob Hartmann completed the podium in third place. The best Austrian, in fourth place, was Andreas Mayer from Kirchdorf.

A Tyrolean double victory for women

After 22 minutes and 31 seconds, the first lady stormed over the finish line: Julia Sörgel from Reutte secured first place in the overall ranking of women ahead of Katja Neuner (from Mieming). The Lower Austrian Alina Reichert completed the all-Austrian women's podium.

"We wanted to set an example for guests and locals. A bit of normality is returning. We had an international starting field with many licensed drivers, but also numerous locals were there today and we are happy about the great spirit that we are experiencing tonight "said HILLclimb organizer Kurt Tropper.

Results & more

The official final results of the HILLclimb 2021: hier!

There are even more great pictures and another report from our media partner of Bikeboard.at!

Search Accommodation

Das war der 13. HILLclimb in Brixen im Thale 2021

Streckenrekord und Doppelsieg

Der HILLclimb Brixen im Thale war 2021 in vielerlei Hinsicht eine ganz besondere Ausgabe des beliebtesten Mountainbike-Bergsprints in Österreich: Statt Mittwoch dieses Jahr am Donnerstag, eines der ersten Rennen nach langer, coronabedingter Durststrecke, neuer Streckenrekord durch einen Finnen und ein Tiroler Doppelsieg bei den Frauen. Trotz deutlich weniger Teilnehmer:innen konnte die Spannung kaum größer sein.

Das war der HILLclimb 2021

200 Starter und neuer Streckenrekord beim HILLclimb am 01. Juli 2021!
Die 13. Auflage des HILLclimbs in Brixen versprühte heur einen Hauch von Normalität und damit auch viel Freude und Euphorie bei den Teilnehmern.

Endlich wieder Rennen fahren ...

... das dachten sich die rund 200 Teilnehmer beim VAUDE HILLclimb 2021 in Brixen im Thale - und diese Freude war ihnen am Start auch sichtlich anzusehen. Und dass nach diese langen Rennpause dann doch immerhin knapp über 200 Teilnehmer an den Start gingen, freute auch die Veranstalter. Eine kurzfristige Verlegung des Rennens von Mittwoch auf Donnerstag, den 1. Juli hatte es möglich gemacht, dass diese "große" Anzahl an Teilnehmern starten durften. Noch einen Tag zuvor wäre das (aufgrund der noch geltenden Corona-Verordnung) nicht möglich gewesen. Trotzdem verhinderte wahrscheinlich trotzdem die zeitliche Nähe zum Hauptbewerb des KitzAlpBike-Festivals, dem Marathon am Samstag, mehr Teilnehmer. Gerade einige Lizenzfahrer, die am Samstag bei der Marathon-Staatsmeisterschaft mit am Start stehen, ließen den HILLclimb bewusst aus, um Kräfte zu sparen. Denn immerhin: Die 5,5 Kilometer und 600 Höhenmeter bis zum Ziel am Filzalmsee auf Hochbrixen verlangen den Fahrerinnen und Fahrern alles ab.

Was für ein Streckenrekord ...

Schon am vergangenen Samstag zeigte der Finne, Toni Tähti, bei der Eröffnung des KitzAlpBike-Festivals groß auf uns sicherte sich den Sieg in der Gesamtwertung der Windautaler Radlrallye. Beim HILLclimb ging er deshalb mit als Favorit an den Start und bewies von Beginn an, dass er sich in der Rolle pudelwohl fühlte. Er fuhr die längste Zeit ein einsames Rennen an der Spitze. Einsam, ja. Langweilig aber unter keinen Umständen. Denn als er als erstes über die Ziellinie auf Hochbrixen fuhr, stand fest: Von Toni Tähti wird man noch länger beim HILLclimb reden. Der neue Streckenrekord lautet ab 2021 neu: 18 Minuten, 3 Sekunden - eine Fabelzeit, die wohl einige Zeit bestehen bleiben dürfte.
Die Plätze zwei und drei gingen nach Deutschland: Christoph Wachter wurde zweiter und Jakob Hartmann vervollständigte das Podest auf dem dritten Platz. Bester Österreicher wurde, auf Platz vier liegend, der Kirchdorfer Andreas Mayer.

Ein Tiroler Doppelsieg bei den Damen

Nach 22 Minuten und 31 Sekunden stürmte die erste Dame über die Ziellinie: Julia Sörgel aus Reutte sicherte sich vor Katja Neuner (aus Mieming) den ersten Platz in der Gesamtwertung der Frauen. Die Niederösterreicherin Alina Reichert komplettierte das rein österreichische Podium der Damen.

"Wir wollten für Gäste und Einheimische ein Zeichen setzen. Es kehrt wieder ein Stück Normalität ein. Wir hatten ein internationales Starterfeld mit vielen Lizenzfahrern, aber auch zahlreiche Einheimische waren heute mit dabei und wir sind glücklich über den tollen Spirit, den wir heute Abend erleben haben dürfen", erklärte HILLclimb Organisator Kurt Tropper.

Eregbisse & mehr

Die offiziellen Endergebnisse des HILLclimb 2021 gibt's hier!
Noch mehr tolle Bilder und einen weiteren Bericht gibt es auch bei unserem Medienpartner von Bikeboard.at! Schaut mal rein!

Erweiterte Unterkunftssuche